The End and a New Beginning

NUS results

Four years of hard work, enduring lectures on seats as hard as rock, numerous projects, essays, lab work … all these has has been distilled to a mere three-digit figure: 4.59. At 7.40am when my phone buzzed, my heart started thumping and stomach did some super somersaults. I didn’t immediately open the message but steadied myself for disappointment, since I felt I didn’t do well in the last exams. Finally, I decided to open and read the message, but did so in slow motion, to prevent any potential heart attack. Using my palms as a shield, I unveiled the message line by line, taking in the results of each module before the final CAP score. And then my eyes peeked at the all-important grade and I couldn’t believe what I saw. Was I still dreaming? I rubbed my eyes, blinked a few times, but no, the numbers stared back clearly and unmistakably. I took in the implications: First Class Honours. I didn’t feel a surge of happiness, more of like, disbelief and “okay, that’s good, what next?” Maybe it does make it easier to secure a postgraduate position or research job, but it doesn’t help to improve my interpersonal skills (no doubt lacking) or physical image. If only such success can be replicated in other areas of my life. Is that being too greedy?

As if it was a augur to the good news, I received my parcel from iHerb yesterday. It was timely since I was getting a bit sick of the macadamia nut butter, as lovely as it is. After the major haul (and burnt pockets) from RawFoodWorld, my order was relatively small this time, consisting of a few delicious items only: Galaxy Granola (raspberry), Chia Seed Peanut Butter (original and chocolate) and Artisana Coconut Butter. A year ago I would have scoffed at consuming coconut in any form (saturated fats!); I can’t believe how the Laughing Giraffe macaroons have transformed by outlook and now I’ve even a huge jar of coconut butter!

iherb haul This morning as a prelude to the results I whipped up a hot bowl of Banana Mango Peanut Butter Oatmeal. It featured the original Chia Seed Peanut Butter. Bits of swollen chia seeds were embedded within the sticky paste; the paste itself was fairly smooth but it had a slightly stale taste, definitely not in the league of Maranatha’s peanut butters. I had a tasting of the chocolate version; the cocoa had drowned out the peanut taste a fair bit, which defeats the purpose of eating peanut butter, so I prefer the original version.

Published by

Sabrina

Sabrina is passionate about all things health, wellness, conscious living and good vibes.

One thought on “The End and a New Beginning”

Leave a Reply

