Product Review: An Ally to Aminos

Ally amino quinoa amaranth

While I would rate myself as a loyal Bob’s Red Mill fan when it comes to grains, I also love trying out new products. So when I saw this pack of Ally Amino Grains on the supermarket shelves, I got all excited.

Sold conveniently as 6x30g packs, each contains a blend of (white) quinoa, amaranth, millets, buckwheat and sesame. You know how you get bored with one type of grain, and how a pack of quinoa can languish in the pantry for months? This is a wonderful solution – by having the medley of grains, it provides varied textures, making for an interesting mix in each mouthful. Although the instructions recommend adding the grains as a supplement to rice or soup, I had it just as it is, cooked in water first, then soy milk stirred in. Seeing that the pack was small, I topped it up with a handful of Raspberry Galaxy Granola (that I bought from iHerb). Finally, I added chopped fresh fruits (mangoes, banana, cherries, grapes) and layered with chia seed peanut butter.

As expected, the grains had that characteristic nutty taste/smell, but mostly it was infused with the saccharine sweetness of the Benishan mangoes. Though not as creamy as oats, it’s a good change from the usual.

On a side note, I unearthed a (Forever Italy) moka pot from the kitchen cupboards yesterday while trying to find a sieve (in preparation for making red velvet cupcakes – to come soon). I was really excited as it meant proper coffee – finally! After watching a youtube video on how to use it, I made my first pot of (luwak) espresso this morning. What a heady, potent brew it gave! I’m in love with this new equipment. Sometimes, such small unexpected finds give the most pleasures.

Published by

Sabrina

Sabrina is passionate about all things health, wellness, conscious living and good vibes.

Leave a Reply

