Weekend Recap

Double, double toil and trouble; Fire burn, and caldron bubble. Remember the balsamic cherry oatmeal? This morning I decided to do a version with blueberries and grapes instead (recipe below). A duo of blueberries and grapes are roasted in coconut butter. The bubbling mixture is then mixed with balsamic vinegar and the sweet blue syrup is glazed over chocolate quinoa. So troublin’ good!

After church service at about 11 am, while the horde of Sunday crowd had yet to throng the malls, I finally went to neaten my eyebrows. The last time I did them was seven years ago for secondary school graduation dinner, and seven years later I’m doing it again for university graduation. The beautician was, to say the least, quite flabbergasted at the state of m unruly brows. 15 minutes later and with skin as pink as a raw salmon, my brows were transformed. I suppose I should start putting more effort into my appearance?

It is a tradition for my family to eat out for Sunday lunch. Today I managed to persuade my mum to go vegetarian at Real Food (Novena Square 2). She was bowled over by her simple Garlic Mushroom Aglio Olio, just as I was with my Mushroom and Celery Tomato Penne. It may sound and look boring, but their homemade tomato sauce was punchy with lots of herbs and garlic. Tucked away at the basement of the mall, this cafe is large, spacious and away from the maddening crowds. With their unpretentious healthy dishes, I consider this vegetarian cafe a hidden gem.

That said, I can’t really live without my proteins, so for dinner I did a quick Sake Misozuke (Miso-marinated Salmon). Pan-seared then broiled, it yielded the most tender flaky flesh sealed under a caramelized cripsy crust.

Graduation ceremony tomorrow. Gotta turn in early!

Roasted Coconut Balsamic Blueberries & Grapes on Chocolate Quinoa
Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup blueberries
  • 2 large grapes, quartered (Red Globe grapes)
  • 1/2 tsp coconut butter or oil (Artisana)
  • 1/8 tsp aged balsamic vinegar (Il Borgo del Balsamico)
  • 1/4 cup quinoa (I used Ally Amino cereal, which consists of a blend of quinoa, amaranth, millet, buckwheat and sesame)
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/4 cup non-dairy milk (soy, almond, rice, coconut)
  • 1/8 tsp chocolate extract (or vanilla)
  • 1/2 scoop protein powder (Garden of Life)
  • 1/2 tbsp cacao powder (Pacari raw)
  • Dash of ground cinnamon

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F/180°C. In a small oven-proof casserole, mix coconut butter with blueberries and grapes. Bake for 15 mins until bubbly. Remove from oven and drizzle balsamic vinegar over. Set aside.
  2. While the fruits are roasting, prepare quinoa porridge. In a small saucepan, bring quinoa and water to boil. Reduce heat and simmer for about 15-20 mins until most of the water has evaporated and quinoa has turned translucent.
  3. Pour in milk and chocolate extract, stir and simmer another 5-10 mins until the porridge reaches your desired consistency.
  4. Towards the last 2 mins, stir in cocoa powder and protein powder. Turn of flame and let stand for 5 mins.
  5. To serve, pour balsamic blueberries and grapes over chocolate quinoa. Serve with nut butters and dried fruits if desired.

Published by

Sabrina

Sabrina is passionate about all things health, wellness, conscious living and good vibes.

Leave a Reply

