Gone Fishing

Since the initiation of my Instagram account I’ve been a tad tardy in my posting. Blame it on the ease and convenience of, well, instantly sharing your photos and getting almost immediate feedback. You may want to refer to @earlymorningoats for more frequent feed. I guess this means more space on this blog can be devoted to more experimental recipes apart from just oatmeals and such.

One such experiment is Gindara Misozuke, or miso-marinated black cod. While the first attempt was great, I felt the marinade still had room for improvement. Specifically many questions flood my mind: how would aka miso fare compared to shiro miso? Does 72 hours marination time really make a difference compared to 24 hours or 48 hours? How about reducing the amount of sugar and upping the miso ratio (it was slightly sweet in the first attempt). With these questions in mind I set out with some experiments.

To investigate the difference between shiro and aka miso, I used a blend of shiro/aka miso this time. I didn’t do a 100% aka as I was afraid the saltiness of aka miso might be too overpowering. I placed two gindara fillets in the marinade; the first I cooked 24 hours later, and the second 48 hours later.

Gindara Misozuke
For two cod fillets.
Ingredients

  • 2 tbsp sake
  • 2 tbsp mirin
  • 1 tbsp shiro miso
  • 1 tbsp aka miso
  • 3/4 tbsp sugar
  • 2 pieces (90g each) gindara (black cod) fillets

Directions

  1. In a small saucepan, bring sake and mirin to boil. Boil for about 20 secs to evaporate the alcohol.
  2. Add the miso paste and stir with a wooden spoon until it dissolves completely.
  3. Add the sugar, raise the heat to high, and stir continuously until it has dissolved completely. Leave to cool until it marinade reaches room temperature.
  4. Pat the fillets thoroughly dry with paper towels. Slather the fillets with the miso marinade and place in a nonreactive dish or bowl. Leave to steep in the refrigerator overnight or until 3 days.
  5. Before cooking, preheat oven to 400°F (200°C). Lightly wipe off any excess marinade clinging to the fillets but don’t rinse it off. Place the fish in oven and broil until the surface of the fish turns brown (about 12-15 min).

 

First off, I was glad I did not use a 100% aka miso as this time the taste veered towards the salty spectrum. My preference lies toward shiro miso and probably 2 tbsp of shiro miso would give the best balance between sweet and savouriness.

Second, what a difference 24 hours make! There was a discernible difference between the 24 and 48 hour marinated cods; the latter boasting a deeper, more intense taste. So really the two days of waiting is highly recommended, and three days all the more better. After all, you just let the fish sit in the fridge and let Time take its course; so effort whatsoever! So I’ve investigated the variables of miso type and time, and I hope by the next few tries, I can nail down a reliable recipe with great tasty results.

The first night I served the gindara with savoury steel cut oats cooked in chicken herbal soup. That was one of the few tries at savoury oats, which previous experiences did not leave me particularly enamoured. I think savoury oats works best with steel cut versus rolled. After it cooled down and thickened, the textured reminded me of grits (funny to say this as I never had polenta before but that’s what I imagine it to be). After all is said and done, I’ll still stick with sweet fruity oats.

Published by

Sabrina

Sabrina is passionate about all things health, wellness, conscious living and good vibes.

One thought on “Gone Fishing”

Leave a Reply

